Jump to content


VlexoFree Notice

Interviews will be open every Friday starting at 12am PDT and lasting for 24 hours.

- - - - -

How do you acquire domains from Tucows?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Olly

Olly

    Advanced Member

  • Pre-Members
  • 131 posts
  • LocationWorthing, United Kingdom

Posted 18 November 2008 - 01:01 AM

I've recently found that a domain I've been following quite heavily recently that I've been willing to purchase has expired...unfortunately it seems that the guy registered with Tucows and I was wondering...how do you buy domains from Tucows, or is there a way of getting that domain?

The domain is: www.ollyblog.com
After clicking through the interested in this domain page I get this.

Ad Bot


      #2 EviL

      EviL

        Advanced Member

      • Pre-Members
      • 151 posts

      Posted 18 November 2008 - 07:15 AM

      Well, I got this on a WHOIS query:

      Expiration Date: 13-nov-2009

      Seems like you're gonna  have troubles getting that domain. I guess you can contact  the registrar of that domain, wich is: www.123-reg.co.uk

      Greets :)

      #3 Olly

      Olly

        Advanced Member

      • Pre-Members
      • 131 posts
      • LocationWorthing, United Kingdom

      Posted 18 November 2008 - 08:13 AM

      Looking at: www.ollyblog.com

      Quote

      The domain ollyblog.com has expired. If you owned this domain, please contact your domain registration service provider for further assistance. If you need help identifying your service provider, visit http://domainhelp.tucows.com.


      #4 Kay

      Kay

        Advanced Member

      • Pre-Members
      • 1,016 posts
      • LocationLondon, UK

      Posted 18 November 2008 - 08:29 AM

      If the WHOIS is coming up as not expring until 2009-11-13, it means someone renewed it recently. The chances are that it expired, then that message appeared and then the person renewed it. Unless you contact the owner and ask about him selling you the domain, your not going to get it.
      Kay | Vlexo Support Staff

      #5 EviL

      EviL

        Advanced Member

      • Pre-Members
      • 151 posts

      Posted 18 November 2008 - 06:14 PM

      Olly said:

      Looking at: www.ollyblog.com

      -_-"

      And when you go to domainhelp.tucows.com you can read:

      Quote

      For Information About Your Domain
      Please contact your service provider.


      Seems like Tucows does not manage the domains itself

      If you do a regular WHOIS query to ollyblog.com you can read:

      Quote

      Registration Service Provider:
          services@123-reg.co.uk
          08712 309525
          08701 650437 (fax)
          http://www.123-reg.co.uk
          This company may be contacted for domain login/passwords,
          DNS/Nameserver changes, and general domain support questions.

      :P

      Anyway, seems like the domain was renewed. Bud luck I guess :/

      #6 Olly

      Olly

        Advanced Member

      • Pre-Members
      • 131 posts
      • LocationWorthing, United Kingdom

      Posted 18 November 2008 - 11:59 PM

      Hmmm, okay.
      Thanks for everyone's help.

      The annoying thing that before hand it was just a sample installation of Wordpress and it was like that for 2 years.




      1 user(s) are reading this topic

      0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users